Seasonal and local

Tonight’s dinner was so yummy I had to share it.  Plus, it just happened to come together as a completely local (Victorian)  and seasonal main course (except for the condiments).  I’m always quite impressed when we manage to pull off local meals without specifically trying to.  It means it’s just becoming part of how we live rather than something we’re specifically trying to achieve.

And for dessert, the latest ice cream: brandy, honey and date.  It’s not local ingredients but it was locally made.  It’s  the first time I haven’t followed a recipe religiously and instead made it up myself.  I’ll post the recipe later in the week, but for now here’s a taste…

This entry was posted in A farmers' market cornucopia, Dinner, Ethics, Food, Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seasonal and local

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    Are they broad beans I can see there? I love them! Can I come for dinner?

    • Bee says:

      Yes, they are the first of the broad beans from my farmers’ market. They were so tender and yummy sautéed in butter with fresh garlic shoots. Mmmmmm. Deb, you would be most welcome to dinner but unfortunately the broad beans are all gone until I get back to the market in a fortnight 🙂

Leave a Reply

