A farmers’ market cornucopia: tomatoes

The last week or so it’s been raining and raining and raining.  Signficant parts of the state have been flooded (and other states too).

And the tomatoes don’t like the rain much either.  So at the farmers market this morning I picked up this enormous box of slightly spotty tomatoes for just $15.

I know what I’m doing this weekend…

This entry was posted in A farmers' market cornucopia, Food, Make your own and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A farmers’ market cornucopia: tomatoes

  1. Dang…. What a total bargain! They look so tasty, my tomato plant marked it last week with all the rain. So sad. Hope you didn’t get flooded in or anything awful.

    • That’s ‘karked’ it.

    • Bee says:

      Yeah my tomato plants are looking rather sorry for themselves now too. I lost a whole lot of almost ripe tomatoes and now I’m trying to work out if the plants are too far gone for the remaining green tomatoes to ripen or not.

      No flooding near me, just benefiting from farmers rain ravaged tomatoes

  2. AndrewGills says:

    Mmmm tomatoes 🙂 And lots of them 🙂 Well done on the score.

    Hope you and yours are not affected by the floods.

    In case you’re curious what’s happened to my garden in the past year since I killed my old blog I have a new one at http://ayearinandrewsgarden.wordpress.com. I’m taking a photo every day in my garden and writing something about it.

    • Bee says:

      Thanks for the update on your garden Andrew. I’ll definitely go and check it out. A photo a day is a great idea.

      Lots of rain here but the floods are well away from where I live

  3. Pingback: A farmers’ market cornucopia: preserving those tomatoes | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

