Through the fence posts: wishing I had their vegie garden

I’ve walked this street so many times and never noticed the house with the front garden full of vegies and little fruit trees.  I normally walk on the other side of the road and the garden was hidden a little bit by street trees. When we came across it I made Mr Bee stop, I took the photos, imbibed the general vegie garden atmosphere and only left when Mr Bee decided we were hanging around outside the people’s front garden for just a bit longer than is polite.

Don’t you just love all these vegies and the little fruit trees?

Beats lawn any day.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Inspiration, Local, Through the fence posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Through the fence posts: wishing I had their vegie garden

  1. may not meet the “attractive front garden” award standards, but those people will enjoy their vegetables!!! Yes, I know you can eat flowers but not quite the same nutrition. LOL

  2. Cindy says:

    Oh my, that is inspiring!

  3. Moonmooring says:

    Great little garden!

  4. I’m the same way with the plots next to mine at the community garden. I say to my husband, “Look how perfect their cabbage is! I wonder why mine didn’t produce like that…” !! So much fun.

    • Bee says:

      Hi Jennifer. I could imagine that half the fun of community gardening would be seeing all teh wonderful stuff that everyone else grows and how also how they go about it (e.g. their super special compost mixes).

      • And learning from each other’s mistakes. And sharing seeds and plants and harvested produce. And making new friends. So many good things about it!

      • Bee says:

        Oh yes that does sound like lots of fun. I’ve never gardened in a community garden only in my own private garden. While my own garden has it’s benefits you do miss out on some of the joys of community gardening

  5. Pingback: How to cover your garden from a freeze. Or how not to. | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Leave a Reply

