Happy New Year

Hello everyone,

Happy New Year! How have you been?

It’s been a long time between posts hasn’t it? Yeah, the 18th of March 2011 to be precise.  Life and work has just been really busy and I made the choice to spend what time I had doing Chez Bee type food activities rather than writing about them.  I am hoping that this year will be a bit better.  My aim is to post at least once or twice a fortnight.  Let’s see if I can manage that.  🙂

Because I do really like blogging and I love interacting with all of you.  I’ve been amazed at the number of people who keep dropping by my blog even when I’m not posting.  Seems like a few people like my pear and apple jam for starters.  I have a new favourite jam to share with you soon and some other good ones too.

We moved house in 2011 and I no longer have my vegie garden and fruit trees.  I’m all pot-based at the moment but squeezing quite a bit of veg and herbs out of my containers. And I’ve been eyeing  some plum trees on the nature strip in our neighbourhood, they’re almost ripe and I see a  harvesting trip coming soon.

During my busy-ness I gave up my yoghurt and bread making.  But I’m hoping to get back into them this year.  It did mean we discovered our local bakery.  The baker and his staff are so welcoming and fun, the bread is good and the prices about the same as the better supermarket breads.  We count ourselves as very lucky to have them just around the corner.

One of my priorities during  the year was to keep going to my local farmers’ markets. I find the trip itself so relaxing and enjoyable and we just can’t get fruit and veg that are as fresh or as good quality from anywhere else.  Plus, as you know, I’m all about supporting our farmers directly.  I did manage to keep going most of the time, however there were a number of months where I had to work some Saturdays and so could only make it once a month. I’ve managed to get out of the Saturday work days for 2012 so hopefully nothing will stand in my way of continuing my fortnightly pilgrimage.

Wishing you all a scrummy, seasonal and healthy food-filled 2012,

Bee

This entry was posted in Food, Happiness is, Inspiration, Random, Snapshot, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    Nice to have you back! I look forward to catching up with what has been going on.

  2. Pingback: Chicken confessions | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

