The tomatoes are here!

It is most definitely summer here at Chez Bee.  And the tomatoes I planted back in November are producing copious amounts of fruit.  That is, the Rouge de Marmande  that I bought as seedlings, not my other seedlings that I grew from seed – they have little green fruit on them that are coming along nicely.  We’re producing more ripe tomatoes per day they we can eat – isn’t that part of the gloriousness of your own home garden? – the front 2/3 of the photo were all picked today.  Every day I seem to be picking them less and less ripe because we’re having problems with caterpillars making holes in the fruit which then turn to mush – you may notice a few holes in the fruits in the photo.  And the little green fruit is one I accidentally chopped off – hopefully it will redden up.

I’d love to make some tomato sauce (i.e. ketchup, but I don’t strain mine, so it’s somewhere between ketchup/sauce and relish).  Ever since I started making my own a few years ago we have forsaken does-it-actually-have-tomatoes-in-it-or-is-it-really-just-a-food-like-substance store-bought varieties of tomato sauce/ketchup.  And wouldn’t it be wonderful to this year be able to make it with my own homegrown tomatoes?  Alas, I’m rather busy and haven’t had the time to put aside a few hours to make sauce….

…But never fear, I have decided to innovate!  I am chopping up the tomatoes as they ripen into say 200 or 250 g lots and freezing them.  Then when I have the time, I’ll whip up a batch of tomato sauce and maybe some chutney too.  Has anyone ever tried this approach before with tomatoes or other fruit you wanted to preserve?  I never have, but I figure that freezing breaking down the cell structure shouldn’t matter seeing as I’m going to cook them to a gooey yummy mess anyway.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Make your own and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The tomatoes are here!

  1. bagnidilucca says:

    Great looking tomatoes. I’ve never tried freezing them.

  2. Absolutely I have done this, and my Mom always froze the excess tomatoes until she had enough for chutneys & all the tomato bounty we bottle each year. Little tip though, weigh your tomatoes before freezing, I don’t know if that’s absolutely necessary, but Mom used to do it & it makes it easier to follow the recipes (just unpack from the freezer what you need to make the size batch you want, when you want).
    Happy cooking 🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    They’re beauties 🙂

Leave a Reply

