November/December in my garden

Before it’s too late and I miss ANOTHER month in my garden, here’s what’s been happening around my place in the last two months….

::We’ve entered the hungry gap with plants mostly growing rather than producing food.  But we have been eating radishes

:: The lettuce has been growing at break-neck speed and is now keeping us self-sufficient in lettuce

:: The beans were just poking their head up in this picture but are now taller than me and we have just started picking the first few tasty little beans

:: the tomatoes too have gone from tiny (like in this picture) to 3-4 foot high and covered in little green fruit.  Even the tomatoes I started from seed are getting to a significant size now.  I still have higher hopes that they did not go in too late to give us a nice crop

:: The parsley went to seed and rewarded us with its glorious floral display.  We now have lots of self-sown hybrid parsley seedlings poking through the earth.

:: The lemons are pretty much over but we have lots of little baby ones to provide us with a new lemon crop in a couple of months

:: Our little lime tree flowered too and it is now covered in baby limes

:: And of course I harvested my first ever crop of garlic. We haven’t tried any yet but it is causing a delicious pungent aroma in the room its drying in so I have high hopes that I’ve produced mega-tasty garlic

:: We’re also just about to start harvesting amaranth, basil, carrots, spring onions and nectarines.  More pictures in January 🙂

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Home grown garlic, Snapshot and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to November/December in my garden

  1. bagnidilucca says:

    Lucky you, growing your own stuff. It looks great. I’ve got masses of flat leaf parsley and some basil, which is slightly better than nothing.

    • Bee says:

      Thanks Deb. Even growing your own herbs makes such a difference I think. Just being able to snip a few parsley leaves for an impromptu garnish or make your own pesto is fantastic.

  2. Zahara says:

    Wonderful! This post gives me summer, and inspiration, at the darkest time of the year! Thanks! Must plant garlic this year! Party on!

  3. Your own garlic and your own limes…that is indeed ‘the bees knees’ 🙂

  4. Kirsten says:

    Wonderful garden. This has inspired me to get out and look at mine through the eye of my camera. Except my camera’s down the coast with my husband and kids at the moment…

Leave a Reply

