Garlic update

It’s been a while since I gave you an update on my garlic plants.  They had been growing incredibly well and then a few weeks ago they started looking all droopy. For a number of days I fretted and worried  that I had brought them almost to harvest only to kill them off.  But finally I realised that they were just doing what a garlic plant should do when it’s ready to harvest.  I think they could have done with a little longer in the ground but we’ve been having so much rain that I was scared they’d start to rot.  So earlier this week I pulled out every garlic plant.  Each plant had a perfect little head of garlic on the end of it.  They’re all smaller than the bulbs from the parent garlic I used for planting.  But for a first garlic harvest I am mighty happy.  They are currently drying outside waiting for me to braid them and then work out where I’m going to hang the braids.  I cant wait to use our very own home-grown garlic in all sorts of meals in the coming year.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Home grown garlic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Garlic update

  1. bagnidilucca says:

    Your garlic looks great! Well done.

  2. Cindy says:

    Looks great, Bee.
    I know what you mean about the rain, doesn’t seem like it will ever stop here.

  3. kel says:

    yes, I pulled mine before they had fully hardened off but like you, after weeks of intense rain was worried they’d rot. they look exactly the same!

  4. This gives me hope. We planted garlic for the first time this year.

  5. eremophila says:

    Congrats on your garlic! I’ve harvested some of mine with more yet to come. There’s not been as much rain in my area so no chance of them rotting. A very satisfying crop to grow.

  6. Pingback: November/December in my garden | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

  7. Pingback: 2010/2011 | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

