In my kitchen…

In the last few weeks in my kitchen I have…

:: Burnt the pumpkin pie!!!  No pictures of that disaster.  It was salvageable though.  We just had to miss out on the yummy crust.  But the pie filling and base still tasted delicious.

:: Made my first ever batch of lemon curd.  Oh it is yummy and has the most difficult to describe “old-fashioned” flavour.  I’m not quite sure how something can taste “old-fashioned” but lemon curd definitely does.

:: Cooked the most delicious pasta sauce using chorizo from free-range pigs. Bought from my farmers’ market of course!

:: Started my Christmas baking.  I LOVE Christmas baking.  First up has been a couple of fruit cakes.  Chock full of all sorts of fruit from figs to crystalised ginger to good ol’ sultanas.  And of course, liberal doses of brandy.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Inspiration, Make your own, Snapshot and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In my kitchen…

  1. kel says:

    cHorizo makes any dish just that little bit more of heaven!

  2. Cindy says:

    A good week then, burnt crust notwithstanding 🙂

  3. bagnidilucca says:

    I like the look of that fruit cake.

    • Bee says:

      I haven’t tried it yet and Mr Bee is under strict instructions too. It’s being saved for the week before Christmas and one to give as a present. I’ll let you know what it tastes like. It smells divine though.

  4. Zahara says:

    Howdy, nice post, short but sweet! I too am just about to start some baking, planning to mail cookies to my 3 siblings and their families in New Hampshire, Florida and Massachusetts, USA.
    I like the sound of fruits and brandy, love figs, and ginger. Don’t think the kiddies are so taken with it yet, so it’s gonna be Mexican Wedding Cakes and either brownies or peanut butter chocolate cookies. Cheers!

  5. Chorizo is my favorite way to eat pork!

    • Bee says:

      Hi Molly, I love chorizo too. Since we started only eating free-range pork it’s been hard to find chorizo but now one of the pig farmers at my Farmers’ market is making it. Yey!

Leave a Reply

