Remembering the broad beans

 

When I first started blogging I was quite concerned about posting on topics at the right time of year (see how almost five months of blogging makes me a pro 😉 ).  I thought if I posted a seasonal recipe once the season had passed that no one would ever use my recipe (except the odd really efficient person who bookmarked or printed posts  and then remembered when the right time of year occurred).  I thought it unlikely that someone from the opposite hemisphere would ever use my recipes.  But I’m discovering it’s not like that at all.  Every day now a steady flow of traffic comes from google and occasionally other search engines.  They are currently mostly looking  for “pear and apple jam” and “cauliflower, leek and potato soup“.  Recipes I posted in another season, but people are finding them when they need them. Isn’t that just one of the really cool things about the internet and blogging?

Which brings me to our broad beans aka fava beans. Ours have finished and I’m pretty sure most other people’s in the southern hemisphere have finished too.  And,  if you’re in the northern hemisphere, depending on your climate zone you may be just about to plant them but eating them is still a long way off.  Still,  I wanted to share our favourite broad bean recipe this year. While it’s still on my mind.  Hopefully some of you bookmark or print it and remember later when you have broad beans.  And maybe, when it’s broad bean season where you live, you’ll google “broad bean recipe” and come across this post.

My very humble but super yummy broad bean recipe:

This recipe doesn’t really have quantities, it’s a kind of go with the flow recipe 🙂

:: Knob of butter

:: Slurp of olive oil

:: Broad beans, shelled (ours are so fresh that we don’t need to double shell them)

:: Liberal amounts of green garlic shoots or garlic, chopped roughly

:: Salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter and olive oil in a pan.  Add your broad beans and saute until they seem almost cooked (maybe 3-5 minutes – try one if you’re not sure).  Add your garlic and toss it all around for another minute or two.  Salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

It is like gastronomic heaven!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Gardening, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Remembering the broad beans

  1. Cindy says:

    I can’t find broad beans anywhere 😦

    • Bee says:

      Hmmmm, not even seeds? I can’t get broad beans at the supermarket or standard fruit and veg shops but they’re plentiful at our farmers’ market and in seed catalogues.

  2. Debra Kolkka says:

    I bought broad beans in Brisbane last week. They were great – I’ll try them your way next time. Thanks.

  3. Kristina says:

    Oh, that sounds delicious and simple enough that I just might succeed in making it :)) I’m planning to go seed shopping in the next couple of days and I hadn’t decided on which beans to get, but now I think I’ll get fava beans 🙂 Thanks!
    By the way, I thought like that about blog content too and I am still amazed at what posts people look at and search for every day on my blog…once I write things I sort of cross them off my “list” and I hardly think about them anymore. Still, they are very relevant to the people finding them through search engines etc.

    • Bee says:

      Hi Kristina. Yeah there’s something a bit special and different about fava/brad beans – plus they’re often hard to get in shops. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought posts kind of “died” shortly after being written – I’m really happy to be wrong though.

  4. simple, healthy and tasty…maybe with a slab of sourdough?

Leave a Reply

