A farmers’ market cornucopia: November

:: Little bits of summer are starting to show themselves at our farmers’ market.  I bought our usual orange haul (to last us two weeks) and then discovered my favourite stone fruit farmers had arrived at the market for the year.  I couldn’t resist 2 kg of second cherries and 2 kg of second apricots (perfect but for a bit of hail damage).  Read here about how wonderful their seconds fruit is.  We’ll be eating LOTS of fruit the next couple of weeks.  Maybe some marmalade is now in order as well…

:: The paper bag contains dutch cream potatoes.

:: The broad beans are to pad out our last few home-grown broad beans

:: I bought two bunches of asparagus but one fell out of my overflowing trolley as I was walking around.  I hope someone found it who will use it and it isn’t just rotting in the grass somewhere.

:: If I have time, the pumpkin will be becoming an American style pumpkin pie as my homage to Thanksgiving and my years of living in the US.

:: The meat is free-range bacon and pork medallions.  I have never cooked with pork medallions before.  Should be yummy.  I’m currently looking at a grilled pork recipe from a Bill Granger cook book “Feed Me Now“.

:: From our garden we’re harvesting Tuscan kale, lemons, broad beans, green sprouting broccoli and radishes.  Herbs include mint (four varieties), chives and rosemary. Within the next week or so we’ll also be harvesting lettuce again.

:: Left over from last week in the fridge are carrots, kohl rabi, broccoli, sweet potatoes and celery

This entry was posted in A farmers' market cornucopia, Food, Snapshot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A farmers’ market cornucopia: November

  1. bagnidilucca says:

    Aren’t we lucky to have so much wonderful fresh food readily available? Cavolo nero – Tuscan kale – is delicious. It is so cheap in Italy, I use it all the time. We are starting to find it in Brisbane, but it is not as good as the Italian stuff.

    • Bee says:

      Mmmm I love tuscan kale too. It’s the first time I’ve grown it. It wasn’t on my radar when I visited Italy so I’m not sure if I ate it or not

  2. Cindy says:

    A good haul, sorry about the asparagus 😦

  3. Enivea says:

    I went a-marketing on Sunday and got a wonderful spread also, but didn’t think to photograph it until too late! Maybe I’ll do the bare peach stones…..
    Fresh asparagus bears no resemblance to the tinned stuff does it – shame you didn’t get all you intended.

Leave a Reply

