It was the water that killed them…

…boiling water that is.

Somewhere, at some time, while surfing around the internet I read that boiling water is an effective way to kill weeds.  I stored it in the dim recesses of my mind and continued to get rid of my weeds the hard way, by pulling them out.

Then last weekend I was rather busy AND the weeds on the path were annoying me AND weeds in paths aren’t something you can just casually pull out, you need tools to get down into the cracks between the bricks.  And my mind remembered…yeah, boiling water kills weeds.

So I tried it.  Ten minutes or so of  gleefully boiling the path weeds alive.

Today I noticed that they were DEAD.  It works.  I’m a  convert!

This entry was posted in Environment, Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It was the water that killed them…

  1. cindy says:

    Yay, you get this week’s medal for the best tip!

  2. gardenserf says:

    I’m going to give this a try on some weeds in cracks in the driveway.

    • Bee says:

      Hi gardenserf. I’d love to hear how it goes. My weeds are still reassuring dead. I think I might have another go at some more weedy areas this weekend

  3. That simple?!
    I just put in a paver path and have spent the last few days soaking up the view of it without weeds. I guess I’ll be boiling water next spring.

    • Bee says:

      Yeah, it’s amazing simple isn’t it? A blessing for your new path: may it miraculously somehow escape weeds (I am always hoping I have one of those paths).

  4. Debra Kolkka says:

    What a great idea – no chemicals!

    • Bee says:

      Yeah, that’s why I tried it. I’m trying to not use chemicals. At the moment the only chemical pesticide I’ve used in months and months is some snail pellets (they were going crazy in my vegies and I succumbed)

Leave a Reply

