Pesto-mania

I LURVE pesto.  Not so much the traditional way on pasta.  That always seems a bit carbohydrate laden and too low a vegie quotient for me.  No, I’m a big fan of pesto on toast, on sandwiches, on crackers, as a dip, with boiled potatoes or a dollop on top of a soup/pasta sauce.  And well, I admit it, sometimes I just like to eat a spoonful all by itself!

Normally I just make a basil-pine nut combo.  But we’re trying to eat seasonally and there are no Australian sources of pine nuts.  So I’m experimenting a bit and this week I made a mint-pistachio pesto.  It was yummy (notice past-tense because the pesto was gobbled up rather quickly and is now just a fond memory).  My inspiration was a recipe in the September 2010 edition of Notebook: but I made enough changes that I can safely call it my pesto recipe now.

Pistachio and Mint Pesto

  • 70 g pistachios, toasted
  • big handful of grated parmesan
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 cup of mint leaves
  • ¼ cup virgin olive oil
  • lemon juice to taste (I used a bit less than ½ a lemon)
  • salt and pepper to taste

1.          Place pistachios, parmesan, garlic and mint in a food processor

2.          With the motor running add the oil in a thin stream to combine

3.          Taste and add lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste.  Give the food processor a quick pulse to mix.

4.          I like mine chunky, but if you like it smoother, give the processor a few more pulses until you get the consistency you like

5.          Serve immediately or store in the fridge for up to about 4 days.  It keeps better with a thin layer of olive oil covering the surface, but the lemon juice prevents a lot of the oxidation that could occur so the oil layer isn’t necessary.

I hope you enjoy the pesto as much as we did!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pesto-mania

  1. cindy says:

    Oh I’ll try this for sure!

  2. Bee says:

    Oh great! Let me know how it goes.

  3. Seymour says:

    Great! Thank you for sharing your pesto recipe. There is so much more that can be done with pesto, I have been meaning to stop buying it in a jar and try making my own. I heard you can even make a great pesto from stinging nettles, but I have yet to try this …

    • Bee says:

      Ooo stinging nettles. That sounds really interesting. Do you need to cook the stinging nettles first to get rid of the sting or does the action of pesto-ing somehow neutralise them?

  4. Becka says:

    I also love pesto- will definitely give this recipe a go 🙂

  5. This does look delicious. I like the idea of stinging nettles too.
    We are about to harvest our basil and make enough pesto for the year. I feel very lucky because we have lots and lots of pine nuts from the pinon trees in our yard that are just about ready to harvest also.

  6. Pingback: The BEST summer pasta | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

