Yummy fruit bread in 5 minutes a day!

I’ve already proclaimed my  love of making bread in the “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day” style.  So easy and the bread is such good quality and so tasty.

But the last few weeks I’ve been hankering for fruit bread and the book doesn’t have a fruit bread recipe.  Then, last week I read Celia @Fig Jam and Lime Cordial’s post on her fruit bread.  Now Celia’s fruit bread was true sourdough which sounds just delicious.  I don’t have a sour dough starter nor do I have the time at the moment to be making sour dough bread on a regular basis.  But looking at Celia’s fruit bread I was inspired to have a go at adapting the basic  “Bread in 5” recipe to get an artisan-type fruit bread.

I took my dough out of the fridge.  Part of the “Bread in 5” concept is that you have rather wet dough sitting in the fridge for up to two weeks  so that it is ready to go when you need it. I flattened the dough on a floured board and piled it high with dried fruit and nuts including  semi-dried figs, dates, sultanas (golden raisins), slivered almonds, hazelnuts and poppy seeds.  No sugar, I just like the sweetness of the fruit.

“Bread in 5” is a no knead method so rather than kneading (which would have been hard with all that fruit anyway) I just kind of rolled the dough up and squashed it out a few times until I thought I had the fruit and nuts evenly dispersed.  This is far more “activity” than a normal “Bread in 5” loaf would experience.

I plopped the dough into a bread tin and let it rise for about 3 hours.  Because the “Bread in 5” has come out of the fridge it takes a long time to rise.

And after baking it came out looking yummy and golden with delicious fruit and nuts inside.  The centre of the loaf is more heavily laden with fruit than the first slice was.

It is sooo yummy toasted with just a little butter spread on top.  No, who am I kidding, with lots of butter spread on top!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yummy fruit bread in 5 minutes a day!

  1. Rebecca says:

    Oh my goodness that looks so good! It has just leapt to the top of my “to try” pile!

  2. bagnidilucca says:

    That looks delicious – I would also have lots of butter on top.

  3. cindy says:

    Looks great 🙂

  4. Bee, that looks fabulous! Thank you for the mention! I think poppyseeds would make a wonderful addition.. 🙂

  5. Ali says:

    What a great idea… I hope to try this someday. We just brough home lots of delicious bread from my stepdaughter’s wedding party, but once that’s gone….
    Ali

  6. This looks delicious! I’m also a great fan of the no-knead bread method, but am yet to try a fruit loaf. Thanks for sharing this.

  7. Pingback: 2010/2011 | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

  8. Pingback: Baked Fruit Bread Custard Recipe | Diabetes Food Recipes

Leave a Reply

