Gardening questions I ponder

Yesterday, I spent my Saturday working.  Luckily, it was a relatively fun way to spend a working day, but it wasn’t exactly how I’d volunteer to spend my Saturday 😉  So, I need to fit my entire weekend into today.  I’m planning a day of domestic bliss including some marmalade making, some slow cooker action, some knitting and hopefully some time in the garden.  In particular, my broad beans are growing like crazy and need to be secured so the next windy day doesn’t destroy them.  Which lead me to my garden questions.  I have a few I’ve been pondering in the last little while and I was wondering if you have any ideas/help/advice/comments?

:: Do you get a better crop if you plant broadbeans early and over winter them or if you wait until early spring to plant?

:: How long can I expect my lemon crop to last on the tree before it gets over ripe/rots/ferments etc?

:: My beetroot took ages to swell into useable beets this winter. And by the time they did, they were a bit tough. Is it just that it was too cold for them to grow quickly enough or am I doing something wrong?

:: In gardening books, they give dates between which it’s recommended  to plant different types of vegies in your area.  Are these the dates to sow seed or the dates to plant seedlings into the garden?

Thanks!  Bee 🙂

This entry was posted in Gardening, Knitting, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gardening questions I ponder

  1. bagnidilucca says:

    I’m sorry I can’t help you with your garden – but I hope you have a great day there.

  2. cindy says:

    Sorry, we don’t have broadbeans in South Africa, I know this because I have a new French cookbook that calls for them and enquired at my greengrocer.
    Don’t know about your lemons, I am currently penning a post about my poor lemon tree.
    Also can’t help with the beets.
    I expect the calendar refers to planting seeds?

    Enjoy your Sunday.

    • Bee says:

      Cindy, I can’t wait to read about your lemon tree (although I wish it was “feeling” better).

      And thanks for weighing in on the seeds – I’m suspecting it’s seed dates as well. I think in the past I’ve planted out some seedlings too early because I didn’t realise they were referring to seeds. Though, it doesn’t help having moved around a lot and continually being faced by new climates.

  3. herby says:

    It depends on where you live Bee. What climate do you have? Tropical, subtropical, temperate or cold? That will determine what to plant / sow when.

    Feel free to email me (I think my email addy will come up in your dashboard comments area). I’m no expert but do love my vegie garden and know of some good websites.

Leave a Reply

