A farmer’s market cornucopia: August

We buy most of our fresh produce from farmer’s markets.  There are two that are close enough, big enough and are real farmer’s markets with stalls manned by the farmers or their family that it is worth our while frequenting them.  This means we get to restock once a fortnight (each market is only held once a month).  I find that the fruit and veg are so fresh that a lot of it will last (and be better than “fresh” supermarket produce) well into the second week.  So each time I tend to buy about 1.5 weeks worth of fruit and veg and 2 weeks worth of meat, eggs and potatoes.

Pictured above is my most recent farmers market haul.  I think it proves that late winter seasonal eating  does not have to be limited or boring

Some semi-random notes:

  • The packets at the front are bacon and bacon bits from free range pigs.  The bacon bits are bacon off cuts and are a great way keep the cost of ethical and local meat down. I freeze it in small handful lots and add it to soups, pasta, stews etc to get that lovely smokey bacon taste
  • I would normally add about 1 kg of various cuts of beef/lamb to this picture as our red meat intake for two weeks but we are currently munching our way through about 10 kg of beef that we were able to buy straight from a farmer
  • The bag at the back is 2 kg of Nicola potatoes
  • Oranges were on special: $12 for 6 kg. That’s $2 per kilo for ORGANIC oranges! I couldn’t resist.  I see a batch or two of marmalade coming on. And maybe some candied peel if I have time.
  • Organic free range pullet eggs were on special: 30 for $5.  I couldn’t resist these either.  I see at least one frittata and some baking in the next week or so.
  • Two bunches of daffodils to bring some of that almost spring colour into our home
  • This is supplemented with our home-grown veg (e.g. silver beet, Tuscan kale, beet root, lettuce, radishes, lemons, herbs) and we have some left over veg from the week before (e.g. carrots, onions, red onions)
This entry was posted in Environment, Ethics, Food, Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A farmer’s market cornucopia: August

  1. cindy says:

    Looks fabulous; goodness me, those must be the biggest Brussels sprouts I have ever seen!

  2. bagnidilucca says:

    I have started going to the Powerhouse markets in Brisbane recently. The selection of food is excellent. I did a post on it not long ago. I love going to markets in Italy, in particular Bologna. The market in Bologna is an everyday (except Sunday) event and full of the most delicious food I have seen. One day I am going to get an apartment in Bologna for a week, shop at the market and cook at home. I have also done a couple of posts on Bologna and will no doubt do more when I go back to Italy in September. I love your collection of goodies from your local market.
    Debra

    • Bee says:

      Hi Debra, I went to the Powerhouse market a few times in the early 2000s when I lived in Brissie. I didn’t really get the whole farmers market thing back then so it was just a cool market I went to everyone so often to buy treats. It was a good market then (though quite newish) so it’s great to hear it’s still going strong. Oh and how wonderful it would be to have a daily market you could just nip down to whenever you needed anything. The market in Bologna sounds just lovely. I look forward to your posts on Italy in September (not long to go!)

  3. Mmmm… all those fresh fruits and veggies look absolutely delicious. Broccoli is my absolute favorite!

    • Bee says:

      Glad you like them! I’m a big fan of broccoli too. We have a great Jamie Oliver broccoli pasta that is an all time favourite at our place

  4. Suzanne says:

    beautiful picture, look at all that lovely produce. Glad you stopped by my blog because I’m enjoying my stroll through yours.

  5. Pingback: A farmers’ market cornucopia: February 2012 | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

