August in my garden

There are little signs of spring everywhere:

:: I had almost given up hope of my broadbeans every flowering but last week they burst into glorious blooms

:: And the peas joined them a day or two later

:: My mint has struggled through the winter but is now all of a sudden growing faster than I can harvest it (added to my list of things to do is drying some so that I can be self-sufficient in mint tea)

:: The radicchio are forming heads

:: My blueberry plants are starting to send forth shoots

:: The green sprouting broccoli are beginning to sprout

:: The garlic is growing ever higher

:: The lemon bounty continues

:: And lastly, and rather sadly, it must be warming up because the bugs are back and something has devoured almost all the leaves on my Thai chili plant

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Home grown garlic, Snapshot and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August in my garden

  1. cindy says:

    It all looks just joyful! We had a bad black frost that wiped out my entire herb garden.

    • Bee says:

      Hi Cindy. Oh no, and so many herbs are mediterranean and just not good with frosts at all! Excuse my ignorance but what is a “black” frost? (As you might be able to tell, we don’t get many frosts here, so I don’t have a very extended frost vocabulary 😉 )

Leave a Reply

