Wine I like: McQuiggan 2010 Pinot Grigio

I like wine, but I’m by no means a connoisseur.  To me it is purely a taste and social experience.  But I often find when buying wine that I have no idea what to buy or what might be nice.  I often forget the good wines I’ve had in the past and there are always sooo many new wines to choose from.  So I thought I might post the ones I enjoy up here.  That way I can find them again, and if you feel so inspired, you can give them a try too. Oh and I warn you, I just like wine that I like, it may cost $5 or it may cost $50 – I’m relatively brand blind and I’m hopeless at following what’s trendy.

My first wine is McQuiggan 2010 Pinot Grigio from Victoria.  My non-winebuff description: it was very refreshing and crisp with a nice bite to it.  Rather dry tasting (yummy) and with a  full-bodied flavour (often I find wine hits my taste buds with a nice flavour but then doesn’t develop any further so that the final flavour is a bit one-dimensional, definitely not the case here).  One to try again.

This entry was posted in Food, Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wine I like: McQuiggan 2010 Pinot Grigio

  1. Lori says:

    Your blog entry was stolen by this website. Happened to my husband as well. Sorry

    http://www.rcanalscanals.com/wine/wine-i-like-mcquiggan-2010-pinot-grigio/

    The site is very suspect and has no contact information.

    • Bee says:

      Lori, thanks for letting me know. That’s terrible isn’t it? Was there anything your husband could do or is it something we just have to accept? I’ve written a nasty comment on the copied blog post. Don’t know if it will do any good though. It seems like the copy might be automatically generated because I wouldn’t think that a blog that proports to be about wine would really want to have my meandering obviously amateur ramblings.

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi Bee,
    I will tell you what has happened to me. After I publish a post, you get the automatic generated related post. So far 3 times I have seen the same story or joke that I have just published. A lot of my funny story’s or jokes I get from e-mails, and when I do, I always thank that person who has sent it to me. I’m relatively new to the blogging world, and wasn’t exactly sure what I should do, but I posted in good faith, and didn’t copy anyones work.
    This morning I published a post about a car wash, that I thought was really good, and I got this in an e-mail only 2 days ago. After I published it I noticed in the generated post, exactly the same story. I heard that in one year here at wordpress that there were 200Million posts. It stands to reason that some things are going to be seen a couple of times I think.

  3. Bee says:

    Hi magsx2,
    Thanks for sharing your story. Hmmm, seems like these autogenerated copy posts are just one of the down-sides that come from all the freedom that we have on the web to express ourselves (or in this case, express others). I’m relatively new to blogging (as I’m sure you can tell) so I guess I’ve just had my first initiation into the not so nice side of blogging.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Bee,
      I really don’t think that anyone is copying anyones blog, I really think that because wordpress is so popular and big, that it’s more than likely that you will see the same post a couple of times, with slight differences, I just think it’s inevitable really. Especially with something from an e-mail or something from a newspaper, how many people read the same e-mail and thought, that’s a good story, I think a lot of people.

  4. Lori says:

    My husband went as far as he could to get the blog removed and contacted WordPress about it. The blog has since removed the copyied post. I had no idea about blogs that just auto post form other blogs. Hope there is something that we can do to avoid it but i dont know. Sorry again!

  5. Bee says:

    Yeah I agree magsx2, quite likely that people will have similar ideas. For instance, I’ve just been doing some blog surfing tonight and I came across heaps of posts on the salmonella outbreak in eggs in the USA. No one’s copying anyone there, they are just all interested enough in the same topic to all blog about it. But in this case, my post is original and it has been copied word for word. I think the chance of someone picking the exact same wine, the exact same post title, the exact same photo and the exact same words are pretty slight. Check it out through Lori’s link in the comments. It’s uncanny.

  6. Bee says:

    Hi Lori, Good idea, I’ll contact wordpress about it and try to at least get the post removed. No need for you to be sorry at all. With out you I wouldn’t know that my post had been copied. So instead, thank you!

  7. magsx2 says:

    Hi Bee,
    I couldn’t go to the web site to have a look as I got a security warning. But if they have copied you word for word etc. that is totally different, it sounds like they have sure copied you, and that is a good idea to contact wordpress about it.
    Lori, if you have a look here at Bee’s blog, under the post you have automatically generated posts, these are the ones that I was talking about, it was very frustrating to see under my post another post that had done the same story. I have worked out how to turn this off now, but of course it means that my posts won’t show on anyone site as well, but I’m fine with that.

    • Bee says:

      Hi magsx2, Hmm interesting that you got a security warning. I’ve double checked that all my security software is up to date now! And my suggstion would be that no one else clicks through either then so they don’t take any risks.
      Now I understand what you were meaning with the autogenerated posts. Yes, it can return some freakily similar posts sometimes.

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi Bee,
        Sorry I should of explained. The security I have on my computer at the moment is very “sensitive” it won’t even let me on some friends sights. It even has blocked me from a newspaper!!! I only have a couple more months before the 12mths are up, then I will be changing to something different, it is obviously not compatible with something on my computer. Sorry, I’m so used of saying my security has blocked that web site, that I didn’t even think to explain.

      • Bee says:

        No problems magsx2. Glad to know my computer security is still working though!

Leave a Reply

