Making the difficult decisions: what seed to buy?

In the last 10 years I’ve lived in three countries and four cities (one of those cities was at two different times).  The climates have spanned subtropical to I’m tempted to call it subantarctic (it was chilly) but technically it’s cold temperate.  So a lot of my vegie gardening has been a bit experimental and I’ve tended to resort to buying seedlings a lot.  But now we’ve been living in the same city for over two years and we seem set to stay here for a while more.  And so I’m at the stage of taking my experimental gardening away from just getting something to grow to produce some food and more towards growing some interesting heirloom varieties from seed.  Now I’ve always grown easy stuff from seed – like beans – but this spring/summer I’m talking the whole shebang.  And so I give you my list as it stands at the moment.  I’m sure I’ll be making some adjustments (and probably adding in more species).  I mean, there is a little while left until I need to order them and um, well, heirloom vegetable seeds are strangely seductive.

Bee’s Spring/Summer seeds for 09/10

  • Beans – Blue Lake, Rattle Snake and Purple King
  • Carrots – Heirloom Mix – multicoloured! 🙂
  • Eggplant – Listada de Gandia
  • Lettuce and Salad greens – Wild roquette, Cos lettuce – rouge d’hiver, Royal oak leaf, basil
  • Rock melon – Ha-Ogen
  • Pumpkin – Australian butter
  • Tomatoes –Tigerella, Siberian, Green Zebra, Black Russian
  • Silverbeet – Five Colour Mix – more multicoloured! 🙂
  • Spring Onions – Evergreen bunching
  • Zucchini – Blanco Lungo Cylindrico
This entry was posted in Food, Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making the difficult decisions: what seed to buy?

  1. Tes says:

    I totally understand… we move a lot, too. But I always love to grow tomato, chili and basil.
    The list look great! I can’t wait to see your lovely garden 🙂

  2. roundrockgarden says:

    Deciding which seed to buy can be a daunting task. I order in catalogs of seeds and my mind just reels … I usually end up buying a cultivar recommended for our area, but then I find myself experimenting, too! Good luck with your garden!

  3. Bee says:

    Hi Tes – I love tomato, chilli and basil too. We have the most prolific thai chili bush in our garden. It produces them faster than I can use them. I wouldn’t mind adding some different types of chili’s to the collection as well

    Roundrockgarden – It can be a bit daunting can’t it – too many wonderful choices and not enough space or time or large enough stomachs to grow them all! Yeah I agree with buying cultivars recommended for your area. I’m buying from a seed company that I know produces their seed relatively close to where I live. So the plants have needed to survive a similar climate

  4. Pingback: Randomness | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

