Hot honey and lemon drink

As a child, when I was sick my mother had a range of special treatments.  My favourite  was when we had a sore throat and Mum would make hot honey and lemon drink for us.  Oh it was good!

When I grew up and left home I had to self-medicate when I came down with an illness.  I worked out just how to make hot honey and lemon drinks the way that I liked them.  Mmmmmm!

Then a few years ago something clicked on in my brain.  Why was I keeping such a yummy drink for the occasions when I was sick?  It’s not as if it’s an actual medicine.  It’s really just a relatively healthy (oops, don’t count the calories in the honey!) yummy hot drink.  So I started “self-medicating” on a  regular basis.

I give you my recipe for hot honey and lemon drink.  Perfect for when its cold and wet outside and you want a little bit of sweet sunshine to warm you up on the inside.

Take your favourite mug, the juice of half a lemon, a heaped teaspoon of honey and boiling water.

Add all the ingredients to fill your mug.

Stir, sip and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hot honey and lemon drink

  1. Tes says:

    My husband use this trick for cold and caugh, too. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Karen says:

    How much juice would you get out of a half a lemon? I was thinking about making a hot honey and lemon drink and I would prefer to use the lemon juice you can buy in a bottle.

    • Bee says:

      Hi Karen

      Ooo I think it depends on the lemon a bit, depending on how big and juicy it is – which is another way of saying that I don’t think it needs to be exact. 1-2 tbsp would be my guess. Maybe make up with one tbsp and taste and then add extra if you’d prefer it more lemony. Good luck!

  3. TheGirl says:

    My mom would take a lemon, puncture a hole in it with a knife or toothpick, then put in maybe a cup and half of water and left it simmer. Thus leaving a very concentrated lemon brew, and take it strong for medicinal purposes (but you can add honey for recreational purposes)

Leave a Reply

