Horses for courses

I see that horse meat is being allowed for human consumption for the first time here in Australia.  See the article here.  Ethically I see no problem with it as long as the horses are raised and killed humanely  but I must admit it’s not something I feel a  mad rush to run out and try.  Yeah, I admit it,  emotional associations affect my eating habits.  I have similar views on eating rabbit even though rabbits are a problem pest in Australia that destroy native vegetation and out compete native animals for food.  So eating wild rabbit here in Oz is a good way to help the environment. I’ve eaten it once, but oh, it was hard.  Funny 21st century city girl that I am.

This entry was posted in Environment, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

