Bread making for the working woman or man

I’ve been making bread for almost as long as I can remember. I would have been about 10 when I started treating my family to my home-made creations. They started off a bit, um, heavy and you’ve got to hand it to my family, they ate everything, even my most rock-like creations. I did get better, thankfully for everyone, and now make a pretty damn good loaf if I do say so myself.  The problem is having enough time to have homemade bread all the time and not just on weekends. While I find the kneading etc very meditative it doesn’t really fit into a busy 21st century working life. We’ve tried breadmakers but really the quality of the bread just isn’t there. Particularly we’ve never been impressed with the crust and they tend to be too fluffy and  supermarket-like.

A while ago I started seeing references being made to Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day and it’s newer companion book popping up around the blogosphere and on podcasts – such as here and here. Could you really make good quality artisan-style bread in so little time? Finally, I got my hands on a copy of the first book a few months ago and started making the bread. It is so good! It really is all that they promise. And now we get to enjoy yummy homemade bread with a proper crust every single day. It’s a wonder I still have a waist 😉

This entry was posted in Food, Make your own and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bread making for the working woman or man

  1. Pingback: My Sunday afternoon production line | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

  2. Pingback: Yummy fruit bread in 5 minutes a day! | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

  3. Pingback: Happy New Year | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

