Randomness

A post on various little random pieces of food-goodness:

:: A broad bean recipe I have been saving to share for ages.  When my broad beans are ready they will most definitely be used to make this:  Puglia style broad bean spread @ Debra & Liz’s Bagni du Lucca Blog.

:: My vegie seeds finally arrived this week.  Long story, I ordered them over a month ago and they were meant to arrive within five days.  Hmmm.  But, I am so happy to have them now and will be sowing (a little late) this weekend.  I’ll write a post about it all next week.

:: We have started drinking raw milk this month.  The taste is just soooo delicious that I don’t know why I didn’t have the courage to do it years ago.  Don’t ask me how I access it, it’s illegal to sell raw milk for human consumption in this country of mine and my milk isn’t sold for human consumption but does come from a trusted source.

:: We had a vegie curry for dinner using a recipe I haven’t cooked in years.  It was so yummy and felt like getting back in touch with an old friend.

:: A confession. I have a food dehydrator.  I have had it for a year and a half and haven’t used it!  How bad is that?  I  wanted a food dehydrator for so long and then when we’re finally given it as a present, I don’t use it.  Crazy.  I need to make myself use it the first time and then I’m sure I’ll start dehydrating everything in sight.

:: Mr Bee bought some green coffee beans and has been roasting his own in a pop corn maker.  I don’t drink coffee so I haven’t partaken but it smells gorgeous and Mr Bee says it’s very drinkable and  getting better each batch he makes.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Random, Recipe, Snapshot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Randomness

  1. cindy says:

    The broad bean is something I have yet to see, but I have seen a dehydrator and my heart hankers for it …

    • Bee says:

      Maybe I should not too subtly convince you to buy a dehydrator. You would then immeditaely use it (i.e. not at all like me), blog about it’s wonderfulness and I would be completely inspired into finally using mine and then blogging about it??? (I am only half joking)

  2. Debra Kolkka says:

    Thank you for including my broad bean recipe in your post! We grew up drinking raw milk. Mum used to buy it directly from a dairy farmer who delivered it to the house. The cream he sold us had to be spooned out of the bowl. I later lived on a dairy farm for a while and my son had raw milk for a time. You can’t beat the taste.

  3. Raw milk! You lucky thing. I would love to have access to that, that’s very exciting.
    Food dehydrators are fun. My mum has one that is as old as I am, and I sometimes use it- love it, especially for whole bananas. I’m sure a more up to date one would be even better though.

    • Bee says:

      Yeah we’re pretty excited about the raw milk too! That is once we got over the “it must be the most dangerous thing known to humans” that it seems to be perceived as

  4. Jasmine says:

    I’ve recently taken to getting raw milk from a “friend” with cattle. Delicious! So far I’ve made vanilla ice cream, yogourt, and baked up a storm with it too. My next experiment will be making a gouda style cheese… as soon as my husband gets around to building my cheese press.

    • Bee says:

      Oh jasmine, you are completely inspiring me! I’ve just used it as…well…milk so far plus made yoghurt. Ohh and I so want to try making cheese. I have a cheese book. I think i might give it a whirl over my time off at Christmas when I have a bit mroe brain space to try something new

  5. Pingback: The race that stops a nation | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

  6. Pingback: The race that stops a nation | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

  7. Pingback: 2010/2011 | Tales from a Well-Stocked Larder

Leave a Reply

